New map not yet approved by state

Last updated: October 28. 2013 12:48PM - 848 Views
By - ostapleton@newsdemocratleader.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The 2014 election season will be a big one in Logan County with most of the county offices on the ballot, but Logan County Clerk Scottie Harper still has not gotten the okay from state officials to go ahead with the new voting districts that should have been in place three years ago.

When the House and Senate passed bills earlier this year that would have set their new boundaries, Harper was hopeful he would get his reapportionment map approved - but another lawsuit over the state voting districts has stalled the approval of the new Logan County map.

Candidates can begin to file for the various county positions next week and Harper says he will be proceeding with the new district boundaries despite not having them approved yet.

“We’re moving forward, but we’ve not gotten them approved yet,” Harper said.

So anyone who files to run as a candidate next week will do so under the new and as yet unapproved district boundaries.

Harper said that he hopes that the new boundaries will be approved before the candidate filing deadline, which takes place in January.

“We just hope this gets resolved before then,” Harper said. “If it doesn’t, it’s unknown what we will have to do (with the districts).”

On the map Harper had drawn up three years ago, 141 voters were moved in the Crittenden Circle area from district 2 to district to district 3. A section of voters on the north end of Campground Road moved from district 2 over to district 3 and some on Ellis Road, down Buddy Linton Road to the Hall Store Road, roughly 160, are now in district 2 instead of district6.

There were some moved in the Keysburg Store area to the state line from district 3 to district 2 and a large portion were moved in the Montgomery Road, Echo Valley and Dennis area from district 5 to district 6. District 5 had the most deviation from ideal at 4.38 percent, which means that district grew and was the largest.

Practically all county offices will be on the ballot next year including, Judge/Executive, all magistrates, Sheriff, County Attorney, County Clerk, Coroner, Jailer, PVA, County Surveyor, all constables and the north and south soil conservation districts.

There will also be several city elections next year - including the city council for all four incorporated cities as well as the mayor positions in both Russellville and Lewisburg.

The county school board positions for Adairville, Auburn and Chandlers will be on the ballot as well as the Russellville Independent school board.

Also coming up for reelection will be State Representative Martha Jane King. Since her position as state rep encompasses more than just Logan County, anyone wishing to file to run for that office must do so through the state Secretary of State’s office in Frankfort.

That is also the case for the District Judge’s seat, which will have to be filled since current judge, Sue Carol Browning, has announced that she will not run for reelection in 2014.

The last day for candidates to file will be Jan. 28.

The primary election will be held in June. The last date for voters to register to vote or to change their party affiliation before the May primary will be Dec. 31.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Russellville Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com